You Have Voted: This is Our New Steering Committee 2024 to 2026

20. June 2024 I  Home ,  News from the Hub ,  News ,  Steering Committee  I by : Nicol Gansert
[Translate to English:]

For the third time since the founding of the Global Health Hub Germany in 2019, our members have elected the representatives of their stakeholder group for the steering committee. 

Voter Turnout: Overview

The Steering Committee is responsible for the strategic planning, future development and content coordination of the Hub. The duties of the Steering Committee members include three Steering Committee meetings per year to discuss current developments, agenda prioritisation, work strategy and topics of interest. It consists of 16 voting members, two representing each of the eight stakeholder groups: Academia, Civil Society, Foundations, International Organizations/Experts, Political Spehere, Private Sector, Think Tanks and Youth. All members of the Hub were eligible to vote. Each eligible voter had two votes to cast within their own stakeholder group - one vote for a female candidate and one vote for a male candidate. 

Of the 1,696 eligible Hub members, 12.3% exercised their right to vote, casting their ballots via the POLYAS online voting platform from June 3 to June 16, 2024. The highest voter turnout was approximately 19% in the youth stakeholder group. The lowest turnout was 9.6% in the stakeholder group private sector. 

Turnout in the stakeholder groups 

The Winner of the Election

A total of 33 candidates from the eight stakeholder groups were nominated for the election. Below are the candidates with the most votes who will receive a seat in the new Steering Committee: 


  • Prof. Dr. Eva Johanna Kantelhardt, Martin-Luther-Universität Halle 

  • Dr. Michael Galatsch – Züricher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW)

Civil Society:  

  • Fiona Uellendahl, World Vision Deutschland e.V. 

  • Christian Julian Griebenow, Tierärzte ohne Grenzen e.V. 

International Organisationens/ Experts   

  • Dr. Julia Fitzner, World Health Organization 

  • Markus Beck, Gavi - The Vaccine Alliance


  • Jennifer Hart, Wellcome Trust 

  • Tobias Kahler, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation 

Political Sphere

  • Susanne Hierl (CDU/CSU) 

  • Ottmar von Holtz (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)

Private Sector:  

  • ​Rajani Sabanantham - German Health Alliance ​

  • Alois Dörlemann - Health Focus GmbH

Think Tanks:   

  • ​Sophie Gepp - Centre for Planetary Health Policy

  • Dr. Christoph Benn, Joep Lange Institute 


  • Lena Eilers - Globalisation and Health Initiative der Bundesvertretung der Medizinstudierenden in Deutschland ​

  • Malte Radde - Universities Allied for Essential Medicines Europe e.V.



Almost half of the elected members are representatives of the new steering committee. 

8 of the 16 elected steering Committee members were already members of the previous steering committee, including Dr. Christoph Benn, Dr. Julia Fitzner, Sophie Gepp, Christian Griebenow, Jennifer Hart, Tobias Kahler, Prof. Dr. Eva Kantelhardt and Fiona Uellendahl.

The new steering committee will officially begin its duties on 1 July 2024

The newly elected Steering Committee will meet for the first time at the end of June for onboarding and a virtual meet-and-greet. The first official meeting of the new Steering Committee will take place on 3 July 2024, in the German Bundestag.

If you'd like to get in touch with the representatives of your stakeholder group, you can find your group on our Hub Collaboration Space.

Global Health Hub Germany Logo